Christmas calendar 21

A musical Christmas calendar by Mat Clasen

As the first part of a larger project, Mat will release his composition "El Teide" in December 2021 in the form of a musical Christmas calendar. From 01. to 24.12. a little door opens here every day and reveals a short video. Every Sunday at 12:00 CET, the snippets of the week are then combined into one of the 4 movements of the piece "El Teide" and published here and on Mat's YouTube channel. On the 24th the last movement will be released and the work is complete! Many thanks to my sister, photographer and video artist Bettina Clasen for the beautiful pictures from Brittany, and to Steven Haberland for the pictures from the Hafenklang studio in Hamburg.

The fourth movement "Danza De Los Peces Voladores" can now be heard here, have fun with it:

The third movement "Danza De Los Peces Voladores" has been available since December 19th. to hear here:

The second movement "Sopa Dulce De Lava" is since 12.12. to hear here:

The first movement "Hora Petrea" has been available since December 5th. to hear here:

More information about the composition here.
It's best to drop by here occasionally and subscribe to mine Newsletter, Youtube channel and follow me Facebook, Instagram or Twitter, so as not to miss any of the cinematic gems! Of course I am also very happy about comments, likes and shares!

[display-posts category=“xmas21″ include_content=“true“ include_title=“false“ wrapper=“div“ wrapper_class=“display-posts-listing-Xmas21 grid“ posts_per_page=“24″]

"El Teide" - a composition for woodwind quartet

The work was created under the impression of the volcano of the same name on the Canary Island of Tenerife and bears neo-impressionistic traits as well as echoes of minimalism, cool jazz and ethnic music. Mat coined the term worldchambermusic for this type of music.

The sentences are labeled:
1. Hora Petrea (Stone Time)
2. Sopa Dulce De Lava (Sweet Lava Soup)
3. Danca De Los Peces Voladores (Dance of the Flying Fish)
4. Circo De Nubes (Cloud Circus)

The sound recordings were made in the Hafenklang Studios in Hamburg under the direction of Peter Hinderthür and Marc Schettler.
The performing musicians of Mat's Ensemble Elementary are
– Guiomar Espineira: flute
– Michael Langkamp: flugelhorn
– Mat Clasen: alto saxophone
– Natascha Protze: bass clarinet